Interview with Ms. Fluharty

Post date: Oct 31, 2015 2:52:47 AM

By Mark Blackmon

During 2nd period on August 22nd, I interviewed new teacher, Mrs. Fluharty, about her first year at central magnet so far and what led her to where she is today.

Mark Blackmon: How do you feel about Central so far?

Mrs. Fluharty: I love it! I was nervous about coming in just because I know everybody works super hard. Students, teachers, everybody. So I was a little overwhelmed by that, but I’m loving it.

What do you feel is the most unique thing about Central?

So what schools did you teach at before Central?

What is your favorite subject to teach?

The students, definitely. There's really a level of achievement here that you don't see other places.

In Tennessee, I taught at Providence Christian Academy, and last year I taught at Blackman Middle.

[English Language Arts] and math are my favorites. They both have pros and cons, just like everything. There are things I like about each one and things I don’t. I would say I like them equally...but I definitely like them better than Science!

So you’re a 7th grade teacher this year. Is this a preferred grade, or would you like a different age group?

I just like middle school in general. I think 7th or 8th grade is where I would want to stay. I think 6th grade is probably too young for me, but I definitely like the middle school age.

Are you thinking about staying at Central for a while-

Oh yes!

Or is this just temporary?

Oh no! I would love to be here for as long as Dr. Ash will let me stay.

What are some of your goals for the classroom this year?

Well first I want them to enjoy learning. I know not every student is going to love to read or love to write, but I think that if I can increase their appreciation for reading or writing at all I think that’s a success. I want them to be prepared for the state testing and for 8th grade, but I want them to walk out more prepared for life in general as a more well rounded student.

I see a picture of your son and daughter. Can you tell me a little bit about them?

I have a three year old named Gretta Kate and a one year old named Denver. I could say a lot about them, but they’re awesome!

So what college did you attend and what degrees do you have?

I did my undergraduate degree in elementary education at Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina and I did my master’s degree at Converse College in South Carolina and that’s in gifted and talented education.

So you’re helping with the soccer team this year. Have you played soccer in the past?

Yes, I’ve played soccer since I was really young, seven I think, and I played through college. I played at Furman.

You’re working with the Junior Varsity team this year. How’s their season gone so far?

It’s going well. They’ve shown a lot of development over the past couple of weeks. They’ve had to really step up and fill roles on varsity, like Madison Beckman has done a really good job. We have a couple other players who are working to step in since we are down on Varsity.

So what are your goals for the JV team this year?

Mainly to just develop as individual players. I would love for them to go on to varsity if they want to, or to atleast have the option to play on varsity in the future. We are mostly looking at player development both individually and tactically in terms of team formation and the team concept of how varsity works together. I really want them to understand the roles of the different positions.